Useful Links

Scout-type sites:
My scouting Web-site ( Adult Online Training Site ) - https://my.scouting.org/
Bill Hart District web-site - http://billhart.bsa-la.org/
Western Los Angeles Council - http://bsa-la.org/
Scouting Forms ( Including Annual Medical Forms ) - http://www.scouting.org/forms.aspx
Merit Badge Page - http://usscouts.org/usscouts/meritbadges.asp
Guide to SAFE Scouting - http://www.scouting.org/scoutsource/HealthandSafety/Guide to Safe Scouting
For Trip Planning:
Good mapping page - https://mappingsupport.com/p2/gissurfer.php, zoom to the forest you want, and change the pull-down menu to be a topographic view.
Eastern Sierra trail permits (Inyo Wilderness) - https://www.fs.usda.gov/main/inyo/passes-permits/recreation
CalTrans mountain road status - http://dot.ca.gov/hq/roadinfo/mtnhwys.htm

Favorite Gear - Congratulations, we like your gear after beating it up on outings!:
REI (closest store is Northridge) - https://www.rei.com/
Big Agnes (lightweight high-end gear) - https://www.bigagnes.com/
Alps Mountaineering (our tents, Scout friendly pricing on raingear and tents) - http://www.alpsmountaineering.com/
Tent Pole Repair (nuff said) - https://tentpoletechnologies.com/
Mountain Hardware (high-end clothing, mid-price) - https://www.mountainhardwear.com/
Bear Vault (good price/volume bear canisters) - https://bearvault.com/
Primus Stoves (Scout friendly pricing, our Patrols use these)) - https://primus.us/collections/stoves
MSR Stoves and Filters (We prefer these at high-elevation) - https://www.msrgear.com/
Black Diamond (our helmets, good headlamps) - http://www.blackdiamondequipment.com/en_US/homepage
Katadyn (Base Camp water filters good for low-elevation Scout trips) - https://www.katadyn.com/us/us
Deuter (Good backpacks) - https://www.deuter.com/CA/ce/index.html
Sea to Summit (lightweight gear) - https://seatosummitusa.com/
Romney's Kendal Mint Cake (summit celebration cake, a mountaineering tradition we enjoy, yummy) - https://www.mintcake.co.uk/
Skratch Labs (hydration and recovery drink mixes) - https://www.skratchlabs.com/
Luci LED camp lanterns (our Patrols use these) - https://mpowerd.com/collections/shop
NOLS (best Wilderness First Aid course, pricey, so unfortunately more for adults than Scouts) - https://www.nols.edu/en/coursefinder/courses/wilderness-first-aid-WFA/
Outdoor Research (good reasonably priced gloves, clothing) - https://www.outdoorresearch.com/us/en/country
Prana (great adult leader hiking pants) - https://www.prana.com/
Backcountry.com (goat worthy, higher-end namebrand items) - https://www.backcountry.com/
Moosejaw.com (higher-end namebrand items) - https://www.moosejaw.com/
Coleman Stoves (Patrols use these for car camping trips) - https://www.coleman.com/coleman-stovesandgrills-stoves/
Goal Zero Solar Panels (We see more of the Scouts using these on long road trips and treks) - https://www.goalzero.com/shop/solar-panels/